HELP! What to bring to dinner!


A friends husband was severely injured in an accident over the weekend. He is having surgery tomorrow and I am bringing dinner over to them tomorrow night. I have a few standard dinners I make when bringing them to people, usually a main dish (lasagna etc.) that they can put in the oven at their convenience, salad, bread and dessert.

But, I always wonder what other people bring? Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks in advance!
10 Responses to “HELP! What to bring to dinner!”

  1. Kacey Says:

    I always bring something they can freeze, lasagna, enchiladas etc. Just in case they are blessed with so much dinner help that they can't eat it right away.

  2. Tiffany Says:

    Kacey, That is kinda what I think. Or something that tastes good as leftovers.

  3. Michelle Says:

    My 2 favorites for meals I take over are lasagna and chicken spaghetti.

  4. jamaud Says:

    One of my favorites is Tatortot Casserole. It freezes well and kids usually love it. This with a can of green beans and a fun dessert. If there are children jello jigglers are a hit.

  5. Simonne Says:

    Menu:Black bean soup (with ground turkey to make it more hearty), a pack of tortillas and pack of shredded cheese for making cheese quesadillas, and a pan of brownies 🙂

  6. Zelda Says:

    This is a great one I got from my mother-in-law. My kids always say it looks gross (I disagree), but after one bite, they're hooked! (And yes, we go through this every time!)Chicken broccoli casserole:2 to 3 C cooked chicken in bite sized pieces2 boxes broccoli spears (I prefer equiv. amt fresh broccoli)2 cans cream of mushroom or chicken soup1C mayo (I reduce to 1/2C)1/4 tsp curry (optional, in my opinion)2 tsp lemon juice1/2 C grated cheddar cheese (HA! At least 1 C!)Salt & pepper to tasteCook broccoli until tender. Place in 9X13 glass dish. Place chicken on top of broccoli. Salt & pepper chicken. Mix soups, mayo, curry, lemon juice, and spread on top of chicken. Cover with grated cheese. Cover with foil. Bake @ 350 for 40min to heat. (A bit longer if refrigerated.)

  7. Missy Says:

    I bake chicken breast, red potatoes, carrots and green beans in a cassarole dish. Fill the pan about 1/4 with water and cover with foil. Bake at 390 degrees for a hour or so. It is sooo gooood!

  8. RM Says:

    i always do a casserole or soup of some sort?: chicken and rice or noodles, tuna casserole, meatloaf…etc. funny story i recently had a friend who had baby no 4 and several families at church signed up to take dinner to the family for two weeks, i took meatloaf after deciding not to take a chicken and noodle casserole and found out that they had been brought chicken fettuccine the five previous nights all from different people….i was glad i decided on meatloaf!

  9. Tracy Says:

    I take chicken pot pie or spaghetti pie. I make 4 pans of each. This way I can take 2 pans to our friends, and still have 2 pans left for my family.

  10. Jennifer Says:

    A friend of mine brought over a roast in a crockpot and it was FANTASTIC! Downside is getting your crockpot back, but it was very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

